What is a SISU?

As part of SEASIN each participating higher education institute – 11 universities across 7 countries –  will establish local Social Innovation Support Units (SISU).

Each Partner institution will tailor a generic model to their local needs – 8 pilot SISUs will be officially launched in each country in late 2017.

The SISUs will specifically aim to widen the scope of regular knowledge transfer activities and offer special shared incubation space.

These spaces will not simply work as a social business incubator, but rather they will develop the tools and resources to build an ecosystem in which social innovations can grow and flourish.

Each SISU will support a minimum of 15 projects involving a minimum of 60 individuals (inside and outside the university) through engagement in a variety of activities as described above as well as through workshops, seminars, contests and more.